Samtskhe-Javakheti - Georgian Parliamentary Election Results: 3 Armenians Elected, 4th Possible

13:06, 10 October, 2016

Three Armenians will sit in the new Georgian parliament based on results of Saturday’s election.

Final vote results will show whether a fourth will receive a mandate from the United National Movement’s (UNM)majoritarian ballot.

Henzel Mkoyan, running on the Georgian Dream ticket, was reelected to represent the districts of Akhalkalki and Ninotsminda located in the Samtskhe-Javakheti region.

Voter turnout was low in the election: 51.63% throughout Georgia, and 50.45% in the Armenian populated region of Javakhk.

Henzel Mkoyan beat his nearest rival, Arsen Karapetyan (United National Movement) by a vote of 16,004 to 4,250; 63% to 17%.

The other two Armenians who will sit in the Georgian parliament, representing Samtskhe-Javakhketi, are Ruslan Poghosyan and Samvel Manukyan. Respectively, they were 19th and 23rd on the Georgian Dream proportional ballot.

Arsen Karapetyan, 31st on the United National Movement ballot, has a chance to receive a mandate depending on the number of mandates given to the UNM based on the parliamentary proportional lists.

According to results announced by Georgia’s Central Election Commission, Georgian Dream won 49% of the vote throughout the country, followed by the United National Movement (27%).

The only other party/coalition to break the 5% threshold was the Davit Tarkhan-Mouravi, Irma Inashvili - Alliance of Patriots of Georgia, United Opposition.

In Samtskhe-Javakhketi, Georgian Dream won 63% of the vote, United National Movement (20%), Paata Burchuladze - State for People (5%), Usupashvili – Republicans (3.6%), Nino Burjanadze - Democratic Movement (3.4%), Davit Tarkhan-Mouravi, Irma Inashvili - Alliance of Patriots of Georgia, United Opposition (1.4%), and others (2.6%).Geo